Bayelsa Times

2023: PDP holds parallel primaries in Edo

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Edo on Sunday joined its counterparts across the country to conduct primaries to elect candidates for the state assembly as well as the House of Representatives.

Parallel primaries were held by the two factions in the party simultaneously at different locations across the state.

The faction loyal to Governor Godwin Obaseki, only those who defected with him from the APC to the PDP had continued to emerge as winners.

Similarly, from the camp loyal to Chief Dan Orbih, National Vice Chairman, South South of the PDP, only the old PDP members emerged winners.

Officials from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) monitored the primaries by the faction loyal to the part’s National Vice Chairman, South South, but the same  could not be said about the faction loyal to the governor.

A chieftain of the party who spoke on the condition of annonymity, explained that the primaries were not parallel.

According to the chieftain, the party primaries can only be done by the list certified by INEC for the purpose.

“You cannot build something on nothing. Elections were held to elect three ad hoc delegates.

“It is only those three delegates that can participate in this election. And those three ad hoc delegates elections were monitored by INEC, and they have the names of those who emerged.

“You cannot write names of people in Government House to now want to use to conduct election.

“Those on the list of the governor were never monitored by INEC in the election that led to their emergence. Where INEC is, is where primaries are being held, ”  the chieftain said.

Similarly, Mr Adaze Ewanta, Edo Commissioner for Information, while commenting from the governor’s faction, dismissed reports of parallel primaries.

Ewanta described the exercise as free and fair.

Meanwhile results have begun to trickle in about candidates who emerged from the governor’s faction for some of the state assembly seats and House of Representatives.

Some of the candidates included Mr. Jimoh Ijegbai, House of Representatives Owan Federal constituency, Mr. Blessing Agbebaku, Owan West, Edo House of Assembly.

Others are Mr Uyi Omosigho, Oredo East, constituency; Kaycee Osamwonyi, Uhunmwode constituency; Natasha Osawaru, Egor constituency; Mr. Sunny Aguebor, Oredo constituency, and Mr Aminu Okodo-Kadidi, Owan East constituency of the state assembly.

Related posts

Abuja Church begins “Operation Feed the Poor”

Saheed Busari

2023: Diri urges PDP members to collectively work for the success of the party

Saheed Busari

Bayelsa to enact laws to end indiscriminate practice against women

Saheed Busari

2023: If given the opportunity, I know you are one man that can fix the economy of this country – Obasanjo

Saheed Busari

Police bust fake CAC registration centre in Lagos

Saheed Busari

Volvo no longer selling diesel, petrol cars in Denmark

Saheed Busari

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.