Bayelsa Times

APC clears 13 presidential aspirants out of 23


The All Progressives Congress (APC) says only 13 aspirants, out of  23 have been cleared to contest for the party’s ticket in the upcoming presidential primary election.
Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, Chairman of the seven-man 2023 APC Presidential Screening Committee, announced this on Friday in Abuja, while submitting the report of the committee to the party’s leadership.
Odigie-Oyegun, however, did not mention the names of the aspirants that were cleared or those that were not cleared by the committee.
Senator Abdullahi Adamu, the APC National Chairman while receiving the report, said it would be looked into by the party’s leadership.
The 23 presidential aspirants appeared before the Odegie-Oyegun-led committee that sat for two days.
Some of the aspirants include; Senator Bola Tinubu, a former governor of Lagos State and national leader of the party, Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo and Mr Rotimi Amaechi, who until recently was, the Minister of Transportation.
Others are; ex-governor of Akwa Ibom and former Minister of Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC), Senator Godswill Akpabio, former Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Dr Ogbonnaya Onu and former Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba.
Former Imo governor, Senator Rochas Okorocha, former Ogun governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, Pastor Tunde Bakare, Cross River’s Governor Ben Ayade, and his Ebonyi counterpart, Governor Dave Umahi, are also in the race.
Also in the race are former President of the Senate, Senator Ken Nnamani, Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi, Jigawa’s Governor  Badaru Abubakar and President of the Senate, Dr Ahmad Lawan.
Others are; former Zamfara governor, Senator Ahmed Yerima, Pastor Nicholas Nwagbo, and former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Mr Dimeji Bankole ,and the only female contender, Mrs Uju Kennedy-Ohanenye.
The cleared aspirants are to contest the party’s 2023 presidential ticket at its presidential primary scheduled to hold between June 6 and June 8, at the Eagle Square, Abuja.

Related posts

Allen Weisselberg, Trump Organization’s Finance Chief, May Be Questioned


2023: Okupe withdraws as Labour Party VP candidate

Saheed Busari

My success as Lagos Governor qualifies me for presidency, Tinubu tells APC panel

Saheed Busari

Rivers Govt, stakeholders collaboration on crowd management during political rallies

Saheed Busari

Why I chose Okowa as my running mate – Atiku

Saheed Busari

APC clears Ebonyi LG polls

Saheed Busari

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.