Bayelsa Times

Tinubu defeats Amaechi, Osinbajo, 11 others to win APC presidential primary

The former Lagos State Governor, Bola Tinubu, on Wednesday defeated Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and 11 other aspirants to pick the All Progress Congress (APC) presidential ticket for the 2022 general election.

The APC  special convention which was  held in Eagle Square, Abuja attracted more than 2,300 delegates who voted in the contest that produced Tinubu as the presidential flagbearer of the ruling party.

Tinubu is now scheduled to face the Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP)Atiku Abubakar and others in the February 25, 2023 presidential ballot.

After weeks of political drama and intrigues during which the party held several meetings and tried but failed to get a consensus candidate, things started to swing Tinubu’s way when aspirants were called to address delegates before voting began.

Former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio, was the first aspirant to step up. Rather than solicit votes for himself, he endorsed Tinubu and appealed to delegates to vote for the APC chieftain.

Senator Ibikunle Amosun and Ekiti State Governor, Kayode Fayemi, followed in Akpabio’s lead.

Two other aspirants, Senator Ajayi Boroffice and Dimeji Bankole  also declared their support for Tinubu.

Another major endorsement for Tinubu came from Jigawa State Governor, Mohammed  Abubakar.

The only female in the contest, Uju Ken-Ohanenye, also endorsed Tinubu.

Although 23 aspirants were billed to participate in the primary, nine of them – including the seven aspirants who endorsed Tinubu and Felix who stepped down for Osinbajo,  pulled out of the contest.

The ninth aspirant who announced his withdrawal was former Senate President Ken Nnamani who decried the failure of the party to zone its ticket to the South East.

Thereafter, 14 aspirants went into the contest as voting commenced in earnest. They include Tinubu, Osinbajo, Amaechi, Lawan, Umahi, and Rochas Okorocha.

Others are Yahaya Bello, Tein Jack-Rich, Emeka Nwajiuba, Ben Ayade, Ikeobasi Mokelu, Ogbonnaya Onu, Tunde Bakare, and Sani Yerima.

Related posts

It is a shame that Igbo leaders, delegates sold our votes – Umahi

Saheed Busari

Ogun screens 600 liquor, herbal vendors

Saheed Busari

Police nabs 3 suspected members of drug syndicate in Delta

Saheed Busari

Al-Qaeda Leader Ayman al-Zawahiri killed in US drone strike

Saheed Busari

Police bust fake CAC registration centre in Lagos

Saheed Busari

900 youths, women benefit from FG, IFAD project in Edo

Saheed Busari

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.